four simple goals

oct14 092

One of my favorite daily reads is the blog A Beautiful Mess, a DIY, home, food, and style blog. They recently did a post on the Four Simple Goal challenge. Basically, it is a simple and achievable goal list that must be personal and enriching to your life. It is a challenge because you must complete it by the new year. Check out the full rules here. You can reward yourself for every goal you accomplish or wait until you finish all four. If you’d like to take the challenge, post your four goals in the comment section and we will check back in with you next month! Sound fun? Here are my four simple goals:

1. Photograph everyday and focus on just that: the everyday.  I love taking pictures of Jack, don’t get me wrong, but taking pictures of our everyday life and the people and things in it will tell a more complete story of our life and more fun to look back on.

2. Start a new family tradition. ( I copied this one, we needed it!) A lot of changes occurred this year to my family, not to mention last Christmas I was in labor! My family needs to start a new tradition. Even if it is something small.

3. Paint the kitchen nook in chalkboard paint. The nook has been half finished with painters tape for months, let’s do this!!!

4.Bake another cake out of the Momofuku Milk Bar Cookbook. For father’s day, I baked the carrot cake. It was incredible! It takes 2 days to make, as there are many components and you have to freeze it overnight. Many of the other cakes are similar in structure. I am thinking about making this one. Perhaps for Jack’s 1st birthday?

Reward: If I complete all four I will get a babysitter, pick out something cute at Sparrow Collective ( a local handmade goods shop) in Bay View, get a honey latte, and go see a matinee. And I will do this the week I finish, alone. Let’s get started, shall we? Now where is that painters tape…

jun16 079

3 thoughts on “four simple goals

  1. Those are really thoughtful, Erika! And something I have been thinking along the same lines. I have become overwhelmed with things I need to do or want to do, and cannot get done because of health issues. I had decided to make a list, and complete one thing on the list, or even part of one thing. Even though these are very small tasks, I still feel a sense of completion. I will come back to the goals…. Thank you for your inspiration.

  2. You certainly get a lot of rewards for you 4 goals, lucky. Good idea Coolio; you go girl! That’s the way we have to think of it sometimes. Jack sure does have an awesome mommy. Your pictures are great!

Leave a Reply

